St Polycarp's Catholic Primary School

St Polycarp's Catholic Primary School St Polycarp’s Catholic Primary School

PTA Closure resources

We hope you are all well and coping with current events. There is a lot of information and advice out there for everyone but especially parents as schools are closing. We thought it might be helpful to collate some of this advice and useful links together onto the school website for you. This is by no means exhaustive and if you do have further ideas or information to share please email poly.pta@gmail.com  and we can add it. 

We hope you find it helpful

General advice regarding coronavirus

Scoutshttps://www.scouts.org.uk/activities

UK Government advice about Coronavirus

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/coronavirus-covid-19-information-for-the-public 

NHS advice on Coronavirus

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/ 

Talking to your child about Coronavirus

It's important not to hide things from your children 

https://www.unicef.org/coronavirus/how-talk-your-child-about-coronavirus-covid-19 

https://childmind.org/article/talking-to-kids-about-the-coronavirus/ 

Looking after your mental health during this time

Looking after everyone's mental health is more important now than ever

1. Get some day light - open curtains, go out in the garden if you can *

2. Get some fresh air - open the windows, go out in the garden or for a walk where there are not likely to be too many other people *

3. Get some exercise - online fitness videos or outside if safe to do so *

4. Be sociable - both you and your children will miss their friends - try to arrange some social time whether it's playing online games or video chatting. It's important to stay connected.

Try https://zoom.us/  Facetime, Skype, Hangouts

5. Routine can be really helpful - some people find having a routine is really good way to cope and they layout a schedule of things to do for the day like drawing a picture, reading a book and doing a puzzle. Don't worry if this is not something that would work for you.

Please follow government advice about leaving your house

Be kind to yourself and one another

It's a scary time for everyone, try to be kind and understanding with each other. 

Don't fight the children if they don't want to do any work today. There is no pressure to do home schooling but the school will provide resources and ideas if you would like ideas of what to do. Spending time together as much as you can, reading, cooking and playing games is more important at this time. 

Online resources and ideas for being at home with kids

Phonics, Reading and English

Audible - https://stories.audible.com/

Oxford Owl - https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/ 

Activities and games plus a free online library for children 

Phonics Play - https://www.phonicsplay.co.uk/ 

Free access for now with games and printables

British Council - https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find 

Resources for English language learning

Maths and Computing

Third Space Learning (Fun Maths Games) - https://thirdspacelearning.com/blog/fun-maths-games-activities-for-kids/

Khan Academy - https://www.khanacademy.org 

Especially good for maths and computing for all ages but other subjects at Secondary level. Note this uses the U.S. grade system but it's mostly common material. Also has suggested daily schedules.

Prodigy Maths - https://www.prodigygame.com 

Is in U.S. grades, but good for UK Primary age.

Make Code - https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/makecode 

Coding for kids with different themes like Minecraft and Lego

Blockly - https://blockly.games 

Learn computer programming skills - fun and free.

Scratch - https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/ 

Creative computer programming

Science and Languages

Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com 

Learn languages for free. Web or app.

National Geographic Kids - https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/ 

Activities and quizzes for younger kids.

Geography Games - https://world-geography-games.com/world.html 

Geography gaming!

Mystery Science - https://mysteryscience.com 

Free science lessons

Crest Awards - https://www.crestawards.org 

Science awards you can complete from home.

General

Joe Wicks - The Body Coach

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6r99N3kXME 

Daily PE session at 9am on You Tube 

BBC BiteSize

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize 

Learning activities and revision guide covering all ages and many subjects. 

Twinkl - https://www.twinkl.co.uk/help/coronavirus/how-is-twinkl-helping-during-the-coronavirus 

Resources for printing - use code CVDTWINKLHELPS for 1 month free

Ted Ed - https://ed.ted.com 

All sorts of engaging educational videos

The Kids Should See This - https://thekidshouldseethis.com 

Wide range of cool educational videos

Crash Course and Crash Course Kids - https://thecrashcourse.com  and https://m.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids 

You Tube videos on many subjects and the equivalent for a younger audience

Toy Theater - https://toytheater.com/ 

Educational online games

DK Find Out - https://www.dkfindout.com/uk/?fbclid=IwAR2wJdpSJSeITf4do6aPhff8A3tAktnmpaxqZbkgudD49l71ep8-sjXmrac 

Activities and quizzes

Paw Print Badges - https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk 

Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. Badges cost but are optional.

Nature Detectives - https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetectives/  A lot of these can be done in a garden, or if you can get to a remote forest location!

Blue Peter Badges - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/joinin/about-blue-peter-badges 

If you have a stamp and a nearby post box.

Arts and Crafts

The Artful Parent - https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/ 

Good, free art activities 

Red Ted Art - https://www.redtedart.com 

Easy arts and crafts for little ones

The Imagination Tree - https://theimaginationtree.com 

Creative art and craft activities for the very youngest.

Tinkercad - https://www.tinkercad.com 

All kinds of making.

Younger Children 

Cbeebies Radio - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio 

Listening activities for the younger ones.

Older 

Futurelearn - https://www.futurelearn.com 

Free to access 100s of courses, only pay to upgrade if you need a certificate in your name (own account from age 14+ but younger learners can use a parent account).

Seneca - https://www.senecalearning.com 

For those revising at GCSE or A level. Tons of free revision content. Paid access to higher level material.

Openlearn - https://www.open.edu/openlearn/ 

Free taster courses aimed at those considering Open University but everyone can access it. Adult level, but some e.g. nature and environment courses could well be of interest to young people.

iDEA Awards - https://idea.org.uk 

Digital enterprise award scheme you can complete online for industry recognised awards. Bronze, silver and gold level equivalent to Duke of Edinburgh Award levels.

Big History Project - https://www.bighistoryproject.com/home 

Aimed at Secondary age. Multi disciplinary activities.